top of page
Home: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureMeredith

A Sprint, Not a Marathon

I'm exhausted, but it's a good exhausted. It's the feeling of knowing I have put in a full day's work. Before, when there was no endpoint to the workday, it was hard to know whether I had accomplished a full day's worth of work. How much infinity will fill a container with infinite dimensions? I'm not sure, but the answer always seems to be more.


When there is no finish line in sight, you have to pace yourself. Now the finish line is 3:00, so there's no holding back. I have a to-do list of essentials and a plan for every working minute. I'm literally walking faster in the hallway because how much I can print/copy/cut in the allotted time depends on how fast I can get to and from the workroom.


And I am happy to report, I've been able to keep it up for the last month. The few exceptions have been circumstances beyond my control. Frustrating, but in a way vindicating. This job really can be done, and done well, within working hours. If only the powers that be would let it be so.



82 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page